Past Elections


Special Benton Community School Election

March 5, 2024

City/School Election
Beginning in 2019, School and City Elections will be combined and held in November of odd-numbered years. A City election is used to elect the Mayor and Council Members and any other elected city officials. A School Election is an election to select School Board members for school districts within Benton County.

Election Results

7/6 Precincts Counted

Archived Election Details

Voter Registration

Pre-Registration deadline for voter registration closes at 5:00pm Monday, February 19. Persons wishing to participate in this election who register to vote after February 19 will be required to provide proof of identification (i.e. current and valid photo identification card with an expiration date), AND proof of residency in their voting precicnt, when they go to the polls on election day, or when they request an absentee ballot in-person. Other provisions may also apply. Persons not registered to vote by February 19, should expect a longer processing time at the polls on election day.

Absentee Ballots

Absentee Ballots will be available beginning Wednesday, February 14, for mail and in-person voting. Download the absentee ballot request form here. 

All absentee ballots must be received by 8:00pm on Election Day to be considered on time to be counted.

Extended Hours

Extended hours are available for voter registration and absentee voting in the Benton County Auditor's Office. In addition to regular hours of Monday through Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm, extended office hours will be as follows:

Voter ID Requirements

Click Here for examples of acceptable voter identification requirements.

Election Results

On Election Night, results will be updated every 15 minutes after polls close until all precincts report.

Vote Center Locations:

            Van Horne Community Center                          508 1st Ave, Van Horne, IA

            Newhall City Hall                                                 11 2nd Ave, Newhall, IA

            St. Michael’s Parish Center                                512 Evergreen St, Norway, IA

            Atkins City Hall/Library                                       480 3rd Ave, Atkins, IA

            Keystone City Hall                                                208 1st St, Keystone, IA

            Blairstown City Hall/Community Center          305 Locust St, Blairstown, IA

Sample Ballots (PDF)

powered by Neapolitan Labs